Tag - Illustration

159articles

New Icons of London

Here is a series of illustrations created by the London-based graphic designer Joshua Clarke. Entitled “New Icons of London”, the series offers a colorized and minimalist version of the great iconic buildings of the Britannic capital, namely the tower The Shard, London Salesforce Tower, or the 30 St Mary Axe commonly called the Gherkin.

Old Fashioned Soccer Jerseys

The Italian-Argentine designer Emilio Sansolini honors the greatest football club in the world with a series of illustrations that reinvented their jerseys in a vintage and minimalist style. All that clutters and pollutes usually a jersey has disappeared, giving way to a minimum. Real Madrid to PSG through Manchester City, here is a series that will delight all football fans.

Tiny Snowy Villages Paintings

At once minimalist and complex, paintings of Swedish artist Lars Daniel Rehn depict a tiny snowy village where live its funny inhabitants. Over images, we can see the little people develop in a world sometimes rustic, sometimes modern and playful, the all very nicely illustrated by the artist. Find out more in the gallery.

Dirty Car Drawings

Scott Wade is a not a common artist. With a lot of talent, he draws illustrations of portraits, scenes and landscapes on dirty cars windows, transforming them into real mobile art pieces. An unexpected technique and work to discover in images and though a making-of.

Here’s to 2014 Big Illustration

Beutler Ink has condensed the best of this year in one illustration with the appearance of the Grand Budapest Hotel. We can see of course the hat of Pharrell, Interstellar, Gone Girl, the rise of emojis, the engagement of Malala, the “Fancy” of Iggy Azalea, the Paper Magazine cover, the LEGO movie and the selfie at the Oscars ceremony… This image is full of references and tributes to pop culture and news stories.

One Icon a Day Project

Each day, the artist Marko Stupić draws an little illustration depicting a landscape, a common item, or an original situation that he published then on his blog. Day after day, we discover inside these little colorful circles, the daily mood of the artist. Find out more in the gallery.

Tag - Illustration

124articles

Hairy Digital Portraits

Pour ce projet, l’artiste turque Can Pekdemir semble réinterpréter l’image de l’épouvantail par une série de portraits entièrement recouverts de poils, de cheveux et de tentacules. Des sculptures digitales très réussies qui rendent compte de la technique de réalisation et du travail des détails. À découvrir dans la suite.

Matt Chase Illustrations

L’illustrateur et designer Matt Chase travaille en freelance à la fois pour des magazines tels que Wired UK, des festivals comme le OFF et des maisons d’édition pour imaginer des couvertures. Il conçoit des illustrations minimalistes qui jouent avec les formes et la typographie dans un style original. Un panorama de son travail est disponible en images.

Chalk Mural by Ben Johnston

Ben Johnston est un designer basé à Toronto dont nous avons déjà parlé précédemment. L’artiste a été invité à créer une illustration murale pour la nouvelle brasserie Sierra Nevada à Asheville aux USA. Cette illustration faite à l’aide de craie blanche mesure près de 148m2 et a été réalisée en trois semaines. L’œuvre décrit en images le processus de fabrication de la bière. Une belle initiative à découvrir en images.

City Guides Books Illustration’s Covers

La maison d’édition Viction:ary, basée à Hong Kong, a collaboré avec des designers et illustrateurs du monde entier pour concevoir les couvertures de leurs « City Guides ». Les jaquettes représentent un plan de la ville, dessiné selon le style de l’artiste et en suivant un code-couleurs différent pour chaque livre. Des couvertures très graphiques à découvrir.

Modern Engravings by Olivia Knapp

Artiste basée à Seattle, Olivia Knapp crée de belles illustrations largement influencées par les dessins scientifiques et les gravures européennes du XVIème et XIXème siècles. Ce qui fait la particularité de sa série d’illustrations, c’est qu’elle interprète ses gravures de manière contemporaine, en y dessinant des objets high-tech et typiques de notre époque.

Butter Fingers

“Butter Fingers” est une vidéo d’animation, réalisée par Jordan Scott, qui recense les objets que nous n’avons envie de faire tomber : une grenade, des tonnes de billes, un donut ou encore un savon. Une animation avec de belles illustrations, à découvrir sur une musique de Cyrille Marchesseau.

IKEA Families Russian Campaign

L’agence Instinct BBDO a demandé à l’illustrateur anglais Rod Hunt de dessiner une énorme illustration pour la campagne russe d’IKEA. On y voit 10 familles différentes dans leurs appartements meublés par IKEA. Les illustrations ont ensuite fait l’objet d’un site interactif et ont été utilisées dans un livre pour enfants écrit par Grigory Oster.